May 18, 2024
11 11 11 AM
Latest Blog Posts
Three Rules For Prepper Bartering It’s Garden (Planning) Season! Fish and Bird Antibiotics Banned! Lest We Forget Assembling The Grab And Go HF Radio Kit Answering A Viewer Question From YouTube Always Moving Forward In Prepping Another TRU SDX Test – More Power! Getting The New Garden And Compost Prepped Testing The Portable 20 Meter End Fed Antenna

FORUM

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Long term food storage

24 Posts
17 Users
0 Reactions
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Hello.
I am new to this, but anxious to get going.
Was wondering if anyone knew where I could get 5 gallon buckets, gamma seal lids, oxygen absorbers, mylar bags in Ontario.
Ordering from the States is very costly. (due to postage)
Thanks

(@lgclement)
Eminent Member

Home Depot sells Food Grade Pails and lids ... Oxygen Obsorbers can be Hand Warmers sold at any of many camping and sports stores (Canadian Tire - Home Depot) ... Berry Hill Farms in Barrie Ontario sells Mylar bags at a reasonable price or you could invest in a "Food Saver" and use their bags. I use a food saver because I vacuum seal most of my individual meals at home, becuse I buy in bulk, I save $$.
Crawford Provincial sells desi-packs in bulk ... Mississauga Tel: 905 670-7904 ... Hope this helps

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

It does help. Thanks a lot.

ReplyQuote
(@alienraider)

A general question, how long would you say "long term" would be at best ?
Just looking at stuff you can actually buy in food stores, I found that tin-canned tuna fish
seems to bee longest-lasting (abt. 5 years but you can probably add 3) and glassed lentils/beans etc.
which are mant to last abt. 2-3 years... all cheap and not exactly gourmet stuff
but there it is, you can just buy it and store it away.

The fish in our oceans are dying out anyway so this might even be a good investment 😉

ReplyQuote
(@fogirl)
Eminent Member

To Alienraider: