May 02, 2024
11 11 11 AM
Latest Blog Posts
Three Rules For Prepper Bartering It’s Garden (Planning) Season! Fish and Bird Antibiotics Banned! Lest We Forget Assembling The Grab And Go HF Radio Kit Answering A Viewer Question From YouTube Always Moving Forward In Prepping Another TRU SDX Test – More Power! Getting The New Garden And Compost Prepped Testing The Portable 20 Meter End Fed Antenna

FORUM

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

medical needs

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@entropy)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

one of the main focuses of my prepping has be medical needs.
i'm a nurse who has worked a few roles that support my prepping well.
some of my areas of knowledge are:
medical nursing (which is pretty much everything from 18 years and older that is mostly stable)
wound and skin management. i can tell you that wounds (even not infected) can take a massive amount of supplies. i did this role both in hospital and in community. i've been lucky to have some great education from would speciallists (ET, and MD that only do wounds)
infection control, this was a big roll on the medical unit, because everyone is sick and many of them carry nasty bugs. 1/4 of our patients were immunocompomised so when some others carried C-Diff, MRSA or VRE, it became very important to have propety isolation techique and set up.
emergency nursing. this was the first time i worked with kids and i'm very glad i took the courses before had that i did. kids are a unique group, with some challenges with assessment and treatments, but when they are sick sick, you can see them turn the corner fast too. it works the other way as well, when they are only starting to get sick, they can go down hard and fast, and that's a shit thing to see happen.