May 18, 2024
11 11 11 AM
Latest Blog Posts
Three Rules For Prepper Bartering It’s Garden (Planning) Season! Fish and Bird Antibiotics Banned! Lest We Forget Assembling The Grab And Go HF Radio Kit Answering A Viewer Question From YouTube Always Moving Forward In Prepping Another TRU SDX Test – More Power! Getting The New Garden And Compost Prepped Testing The Portable 20 Meter End Fed Antenna

FORUM

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Zero knowledge on firearms

15 Posts
11 Users
0 Reactions
(@massp)
Topic starter  

Hi,

I have no knowledge whatsoever about prepping but I am slowly getting there. I live in Quebec and I don't have a firearm permit (and can't have one bcz of an old criminal record). Is there a way I could acquire an arm to protect my family if things turn bad? What about the arms sold at Canadian Tire (or else), do we also need a permit?

Thanks you for sharing your knowledge.

Patricia

(@denob)
Member Admin

OK, first of all...about the PAL...this may be a dumb question, but have you actually tried to get a permit, or just assuming?
Many times, minor offences that are very old could be overlooked, provided you have been a good little citizen since then.
Secondly, I have been told, and more or less confirmed that a flintlock muzzle loader does not require a PAL...I'm about 95% sure on this one.
Check this link...
http://www.cabelas.ca/category/flintlocks/950
One shot at a time and long to reload, but an option.
Keep in mind that bows (as well as crossbows) require no permit.

ReplyQuote
(@captain_ambiguous)
Estimable Member

I think it goes beyond flintlocks. Some revolvers that fire "obsolete ammunition" are classified by name as antiques under the law, and supposedly don't require anything beyond cash. Although the ammunition might still require a PAL.