May 18, 2024
11 11 11 AM
Latest Blog Posts
Three Rules For Prepper Bartering It’s Garden (Planning) Season! Fish and Bird Antibiotics Banned! Lest We Forget Assembling The Grab And Go HF Radio Kit Answering A Viewer Question From YouTube Always Moving Forward In Prepping Another TRU SDX Test – More Power! Getting The New Garden And Compost Prepped Testing The Portable 20 Meter End Fed Antenna

FORUM

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Northern Alberta

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Reactions
(@pauly100)
Topic starter  

Anyone in Northern Alberta? I am new to prepping. Hoping to learn!

(@quietman)
Estimable Member

Hi Pauly, welcome.
Northern Alberta is a big area so narrow it a bit more. There are preppers everywhere in Canada so finding people in your area only requires time and talking.
Chatting about world and local concerns will bring out people’s opinions and a few well placed questions and comments will weed out those who are not preppers.
Never give away what stuff you have or want, also keep trigger words like bugout and prepps to yourself until you are certain you are chatting with real preppers.
You will find good folks doing what we do.

Hmmm, maybe I should rethink the quiet part...

ReplyQuote
(@sarcopenia)

Not to be difficult, but...

how do you identify "real preppers" without using the "trigger words?"

I mean, it's not like there's a secret handshake. Or is there?!

Would you just start talking about zombies in general and see where that leads?

Or ask point blank, "What would you do if a big disaster happened (like Katrina, only worse) and emergency services / food transport were suspended?"

???

ReplyQuote
(@quietman)
Estimable Member

lol
Nope, not aware of a secret handshake.
Outside of contact on sites like this or at organized events we preppers for the most part find others like us through conversations. Thing is that often most non preppers put us in the crazy category quickly.
Not always of course, but often enough.